top of page

Midwives: creating and supporting positive birth experiences

It's not always what happens on our journeys, but the people we meet along the way. I still have vivid recollections of many of the midwives that I met, who supported me, who challenged me and were a part of my pregnancies and birth stories.

And, on this day, International Day of the Midwife 2014, I wanted to honour those who were, and still are so fondly remembered.

During my first birth, I was diagnosed with Gestational Diabetes [GD] at 28 weeks. Not until this time had I really referenced any of the midwives [all of two] that I'd met to that point. But shortly after my diagnosis, I was telephoned by Rose, the diabetic midwife that worked out of the QE2 hospital in Welwyn Garden City, where I was registered. She was a huge support to me during those final weeks. She helped me to learn a new diet, how best to prepare for my medical diabetes birth; which would involve regulating my sugar levels throughout active labour, a likely induction before my due date, and what could happen to my baby upon delivery if her sugar levels plummetted [which they did].

That was the best advice I received during either pregnany; it helped me to manage the emotion of the seperation from my new and beautiful baby girl, keep calm in the face of the medical inverventions required to stabilise her tiny frame, while she was sequestered onto the Special Care Baby Unit. Because I knew the process, it didn't come as a shock to me, and helped me to manage my concern and anxiety while she was treated. What could have been a hugely traumatic and distressing time for me and my husband, was greatly helped by Rose, through her support, dedication and explanation. She even came to meet Immy once she was born. However, contrary to the good medical advice Rose provided me, but equally and if not more important to me, there was also Alison; my community midwife. I met her at my 16 week appointment, and once GD was diagnosed, a few more times for regular checks. She also ran my NHS antenatal classes, and even gave me the floor to talk to the other assembled mums about what I'd learnt through my hypnobirthing classes.

She was a strong supporter of hypnobirthing and was really supportive of my decision to both do it and to try to flout the 'medical' view of my 'condition' and situation. She gave me great advice to bring on spontaneous labour, instructed me to have a sweep at 39+2 days [which could not be undertaken due to the state of my cervix], and visited my house at 39+4 to give me another, which, although shouldn't have worked as I was still not fully effaced, but having said to me to 'use you hypnobirthing breathing techniques...' she forced the issue and swept my membranes regardless. She also said to me that if I was to enter spontaneious labour, not to call the hospital until I felt the need to, rather than as labour began, as they would instruct me to come in for continuous monitoring, which would be counter to my desire, as she knew.

Well, that night, I had a large bloody show, but did not notice any sign of labour. Although, upon arriving at the hospital for my planned induction the next day, at 39+5 , the said to me 'did you realise you were having contractions?'...nope. But then, the induction took place as planned regardless. But, it had felt nice to be so supported.

During that labour, I met many lovely midwives; one, Laura, even became the namesake for Imogen's middle name [however, due to my sister also being a Laura, we felt safer using her as the true namesake]. And the midwife that brought us THE BEST EVER tea and toast [which they can only do so well in hospital] after Immy's birth, and stated that she was 'the most alert baby she'd ever seen', was lovely too. When I had Elliott, the midwives along my journey barely registered. I didn't feel the attachment to them, as I was more sure of myself and my body and my baby. However, the one who witnessed his birth, Kate, was especially memorable due to her laid back attitude and keen sense to help us to achieve the birth we wanted. She chatted to me about hypnobirthing throughout my 6cm dialated exam, several surges and during the trip to the birthing pool. She was surprised at my ability to be so calm and collected. She then left us to labour alone in the room, and was shocked to be called by my husband to be told that the baby was coming [a mere 20 minutes after we'd entered the pool, at 6cm], to find me breathing Elliott out into the water. I remember clearly her wavering voice as she left the room to find a colleague; haha.

She was a mere observer to the birth of our son, but was really supportive of our choices, even volunteering that we may like to delay cord clamping and have a natural thurd stage. Of course, that was our plan, but for her to suggest it was just fabulous. It showed us that the word of hypnobirthing is spreading and that even on the Isle of Wight, there are midwives that know of it so intimately and are willing and able to support a mum's choices. I felt so supported in my decisions, actions and choices; which is what truly makes a great birth, and which can only truly be facilitated by a great midwive. Keep up the good work, in supporting our mums to believe in themselves and their choices, to achieve the best brith for them and their baby on the day.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • YouTube App Icon
bottom of page