top of page

The power of my instructor role

I thought that the most powerful birth experience I would ever experience would be my own, but I never dreamt how much the experience of others could impact me; until I became a hypnobirthing instructor.

I have now met and taught a variety of mums-to-be, mums and other instructors, heard countless birth stories and spoken at length about many birth related topics. But this past week-ten days has been more emotive than any I can remember since my own glorious birts; my first taught hypnobaby was born.

From a few days before my mum-to-be, Emma's, EDD ['guess date'], I'd been on tenterhooks. I wondered how her birth would go, when it would happen, how she would feel, if I'd created strength enough in her and her partner, Stu, to face any turns that their birth may take, but most of all, I worried that they wouldn't have the experience they, and I, had hoped for.

I'm not really sure why I was so nervous. I know that I taught them the skills and knowledge of The Wise Hippo Birthing Programme, which in itself is fantastic. I knew that I'd connected well with them, gained their trust and built a wonderful rapport. I also knew that I had been enthusiastic, positive and confident in myself as their teacher, and in them as a couple. They, in turn, practised their skills as they had been taught, felt confident in their knowledge and ability and were truly looking forward to their baby's birth day...it just wouldn't come soon enough.

But, at last, there is a baby boy, as yet unnamed, and undoubtedly beautiful and a joyous addition to their little family. And although his birth did not go entirely 'to plan', Emma and Stu approached the birth with confidence, surety, knowledge, passion and strength; strength to ask questions, to seek answers and to make decisions that they felt were right for them and their baby on the day.

And the outcome? One fantastic, empowering and beautiful VBAC, even though at the beginning it did not look likely. One healthy, calm, relaxed and alert baby boy at 8lb 14oz, two very happy parents and one new big brother. Emma said: 'The experience went from something completely unexpected and looking like I could cross off almost everything on my birth plan to the most empowering, wonderful experience ever!'

And I? Have been a weepy, emotional wreck since finding out. I am quite honestly bursting with pride for my first hypnobirthing couple, joy at my first hypnobirthing baby and success for my first foray into this world of so many possibilities. Now I just can't wait to hear tales of more fantastic birth experiences, ones that I have helped, in small part, to create. And that is truly the best feeling in the world - to help someone to achieve their dreams. I love my job.

If you have a birth dream, please do get in touch and I'll see how I can help you to achieve yours too.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • YouTube App Icon
bottom of page