top of page

Making friends through pregnancy

I got chatting to a lady today at the local NCT Nearly New Sale; she asked me if my hypnobirthing classes were an opportunity to meet other Mums? To which I replied 'actually, yes'.

Although this is not perhaps why some women chose to hypnobirth primarily, it is more often to learn the excellent skills and tools to help them with a calm and comfortable birth, but it is a wonderful by-product, a way to meet like-minded mums-to-be, who may prove to be your lifeline once your new baby is here.

I toyed with the idea of NCT classes in the early days of my first pregnancy, having not heard of hypnobirthing; the main reason...not to learn about antenatal information, but to meet other mums-to-be like me. Of course, once I heard about hypnobirthing, I merely transferred that desire. And I am very pleased to say I met two lovely couples; one of whom, Anneka, that I'd describe as one of my very best friends [of course, I like Lee, her partner, too]; in fact, we're so alike and close in our views that she too is now a hypnobirthing instructor in Bedfordshire. If you live locally to her, check out her Facebook page: www.facebook.com/keepcalmbirthon

And that was what I wanted. I wanted to make friends for me, and I wanted to make friends for my baby. And, of all the friends I made during my pregnancy and early days of mummyhood, this is the strongest relationship that remains.

Hypnobirthing did that. It brought two shy new mummies together, bonding over the same beliefs and interest, creating a bond that will last a lifetime for us mummies, and our little ones [who will, obviously, get married one day]. So, that is why, I offer a monthly coffee morning as well as group hypnobirthing classes, to enable that interaction, and to help other mums to make the sort of friend that I made in Anneka.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • YouTube App Icon
bottom of page