top of page

Our bodies know what to do and when!


Christmas 2015 was not the best Christmas in the BIrth Wight household, because the whole family has been struck down with the lurgy! We are all full of flu! Yuck!

However, it is a really good demonstration of just how clever our bodies are and that they know what they need to do and when they need to do it.

This year, the children have been ill on and off all autumn, but us grown ups had avoided it...until now. That said, I had a week of annual leave where I was to be on mummy duty. The kids and I wanted to get lots done in preparation for the big day, and so we could spend some quality family time doing fun things! And my body staved off the lurgy during the whole week, and on Christmas Day! I was, as usual, on dinner duty on the big day, so being ill wasn't on the menu!

But lo and behold, come Boxing Day, it was a different story. I've been unable to function properly since then, but I've had hubby at home to help with the kids, and we had a great Christmas Day, which was the point in all the effort.

But why am I whinging on about my ailments? Because, it has a very real relevance to trusting our bodies when it comes to labour and birth. Our bodies know what to do. They know what they're doing and when is the right time to do it.

I've had numerous clients with big things happening in their lives (commonly house renovations, work commitments, etc.) that need to be settled before baby arrives. They've had anxieties about going into labout before things are settled...however, each and every one has had their baby once life is in line.

The same was trye for me when I had my son in 2012. My husband was working in London all week. He was literally only home for about 36 hours a week - which didn't give me a huge window of time to go into labour. But I did - I went into spontaneous labour just before he was due to travel back to London on the Sunday evening. Our bodies know. Our bodies a clever. We should trust them to know what to do and when to do it.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • YouTube App Icon
bottom of page